The quick save option in MacroView Mail allows users to save emails and attachments without prompting or confirming file metadata, reducing the number of steps needed to save files to SharePoint.
Note: If the SharePoint save location is configured using MacroView Provisioning, document and email metadata will continue to be captured automatically if quick save is enabled.
How to access quick save
In addition to the regular save option, a separate quick save option with a different icon can be found in the context menu of a document library, document set or folder in the tree view.
Pictured left-to-right: Context menu using the tree view layout and the context menu using the classic layout
Quick save behaviour
After selecting quick save, MacroView Mail will save the selected emails and/or attachments using:
- The email content type if it exists in the target location for emails (as specified in MacroView Mail Settings).
- The default content type, if an email content type does not exist, or if saving a non-email attachment (as specified in SharePoint).
- The email file name format for emails (as specified in MacroView Mail Settings).
- The file name for non-email attachments.
MacroView Mail will not prompt the user to enter any optional or required metadata, just like a regular SharePoint upload in the web browser.
Quick save cancelled
A quick save will be cancelled if the save cannot be successfully completed without user intervention. This can be due to:
- A file with the same name as the email and/or attachment already exists in the save location.
- Attempting to save files that contain the same name.
In this case, MacroView Mail will revert to the regular save process, prompting the user to resolve the issue before saving the files to SharePoint.
Enable quick save by default
Quick save can be enabled by default, replacing the regular save function found in the UI, further reducing the number of clicks required to save an email and/or attachments.
To enable Quick save by default:
- Select the Settings icon in the top-right of MacroView Mail.
- Select the 'Default to quick save" checkbox, then Save changes.
Pictured left-to-right: Settings cog, and the Default to quick save checkbox
When the default to quick save setting is enabled, the quick save icon will appear in the UI, rather than the regular save icon to indicate the change in default behaviour.
The regular save behaviour can still be accessed via the context menu, should you want to add or edit metadata before saving emails and/or attachments.
Pictured: Quick save icon displayed when default to quick save is enabled