Applies to: MacroView Mail (OWA)Outlook on the web | All users
Overview
MacroView products make it easy for you to save your emails and find them again later. In MacroView Mail, you can use the Send and Save feature to specify where to save an email automatically when you send it. You can select the save location while you're composing the email or as you're sending it.
While you're composing an email, the following MacroView Mail components appear allowing you to select where to save the email when you send it.
- Outlook ribbon: In the Apps group on the Outlook ribbon, click to open the MacroView Mail pane.
- Email banner: A banner appears above the email with options to set the save location and to dismiss the banner for the current session. Click Save & send to open the MacroView Mail pane.
With the MacroView Mail pane open, you can browse to select the location where your email will be saved when you send it.
- MacroView Mail add-in button
- MacroView Mail banner
- Save & send button
- Dismiss button
When you're finished composing your email and you attempt to send it, if you haven't already selected a save location then a confirmation dialog appears with options to select where to save the email, to send it without saving it, or to abort sending it. This dialog appears only if the Show a prompt to save the email while sending it option has been selected.
Select the save location
Once you've decided that the email you're composing needs to be saved when it's sent, you can select the save location from the MacroView Mail tree view. To select a save location, follow these steps.
- Open the MacroView Mail pane.
- Browse the tree view to locate the desired save location.
-
Click .
The Select location or attachments pane is displayed.
- (Optional) Select the required content type and metadata.
- If you're ready to send your email now, click .
Options
Several options allow you to configure your Send and Save experience.
Show a prompt to save the email while sending it
This option controls whether a confirmation dialog is displayed when you send an email. If set, a confirmation dialog like the one shown below is displayed when you send your email, providing the following options.
- Send anyway: Proceed to send the email without prompting for a save location.
- Select save location: Select the location where the email will be saved and continue to send it.
- Don't send: Abort the send action. The email is neither saved nor sent.
Show a reminder banner with 'Save & send' button while composing an email
This option controls whether the Send and Save banner appears above the email pane.
If this option is set, when composing an email, the Send and Save banner appears with the following options.
- Save & send: Open the MacroView Mail pane and select the location where the email is saved.
- Dismiss: Dismiss the banner for the current email.
Default to quick save
Send and Save supports Quick Save to reduce the amount of prompting you experience. For more information, see Quick save.
Different behaviour using Quick Save
Quick Save alters the Send and Save experience. When Quick Save is enabled, the button for a tree view location is replaced with a button. Click to select the save location and complete the Send and Save action for the composed email with a single click.
Items selected for saving
When you send an email, you can choose to save the email, the email and attachments, or attachments only. This setting is applied to both Inbox and Sent emails.
For more information about saving attachments with email messages, see MacroView Mail – Save and Send with Saving attachments from emails.
Send and Save on iOS
Send and Save in Outlook on iOS behaves differently to the Windows version.
- Quick Save and the Save button are not supported on iOS.
- The Send button in the MacroView Mail pane is not available on iOS.
- On iOS, you must click the native Outlook send button after a location has been selected or to Quick Save an email.