Available in AOI 7.1
When saving a document to SharePoint, Office will automatically Check Out the document so you can continue working on it without losing changes or causing conflicts with other collaborators.
Checking out does not occur when using co-authoring.
Office applications will display a yellow information message bar to let you know the document has been checked out. However, users may find this distracting or confusing if they are not used to working with files on SharePoint and checking documents out.
AOI 7.1 introduces new options to suppress this Checked Out message bar from showing after saving a document.
It is recommended to enable all of the options together to prevent the banner from being shown in all situations. However, you can control each setting separately to suit your organisation.
Options for UDN can be found in the UDN section of the Home tab in the Word and Excel ribbons.
Close checked out documents when restoring edit state.
Enabling this option will prevent the document from becoming checked out at all. This option is recommended as it prevents the Checked out message bar from appearing in most cases.
With this option enabled, the document will be closed and reopened after using Save as to SharePoint, allowing Word to end the editing session and 'Check in' the document.
Suppress check out banner
Enabling this option will hide the Checked out banner if it is detected.
The banner may still appear briefly before it is suppressed, and this may cause the bar to appear while typing and editing.